Mumbai Optical Association Announces New Office Bearers

The Mumbai Optical Association, on 23rd April, 2014, announced the list of new office bearers for 2014-2016

Mumbai-Optical-1The members were chosen on the basis of an election process, held shortly after the Optic India exhibition in Mumbai in February, 2014. In addition to the committee members, the association also elevated three past-presidents to their advisory committee – Mr Bipin Shah, Mr Rajendra Sahgal and Mr Surendra Gangar.

The list of new committee members is as follows:

President :


Mr Baldev Sawhney

One of the most respected personalities in the industry, Mr Baldev Sawhney, the force behind Kool-On Opticals, has always been at the helm of affairs for Mumbai Optical Association, and has always stood tall in the midst of many battles for the Indian optical industry. Under his leadership, MOA is bound to succeed even more in the future.

Vice President : 

Vice President : Mr Ketan Parikh (Sterling Meta Plast Pvt. Ltd.)

Mr Ketan Parikh

Mr Ketan Parikh, amongst the few pioneers of the modern optical Industry in India, is the man behind Sterling Meta Plast Pvt Ltd – a company that has introduced several international brands to India, including Tom Ford, Roberto Cavalli, Calvin Klein, Fendi, Michael Kors, Salvatore Ferragamo and many more. His passion and drive for the enhancement of the Indian optical industry is also well known.

Secretary :

Secretary : Mr Abhilash Khara (Mangalsons Group)

Mr Abhilash Khara

Mr Abhilash Khara is the driving force behind Mangalsons Group, which, since 1983, has provided the industry with qualitative ophthalmic solutions driven by accuracy and premium quality. With his immense knowledge and experience, Mr Abhilash will prove to be a useful asset for the Mumbai Optical Association.

Joint Secretary :

Jayant-Chheda-_MG_7565Mr Jayant Chheda

Mr Jayant Chheda of Suvin Optics has been at the forefront of activities for Mumbai Optical Association since a few years. Under his guidance, Suvin Optics has grown to become one of the most well-known eye-wear distributors in India, and with his support, the Mumbai Optical Association is sure to progress further.

Treasurer :

Treasurer : Mr Rashmikant Desai (Fine Vision)

Mr Rashmikant Desai

Mr Rashmikant Desai, founder of Fine Vision is amongst the respected personalities in the optical industry. He has been at the helm of Fine Vision and has played a huge role in making it one of the respected trader, distributor and supplier of ophthalmic instruments and refractometers.

Joint Treasurer :


Mr Praful Modi

Mr Praful Modi is an important member of one of the most renowned optical houses in India – Alankar Opticals. He has been a part of Mumbai Optical Association since a while, and his understanding of the local markets would also prove to be a boon for the Mumbai Optical Assocation.



Share This


  1. shanu nag

    My congratulations to the new team that steers optical industry in India.
    Specially to friend Ketan for the elevation.

  2. Dr Narendra Kumar

    Congratulations to Mr. Baldev Sawhney and his team for having being entrusted with the affairs of Mumbai Optical Association…I recall having the pleasure of being a faculty member at the Mumbai Course of Optometry organised by the Association in collaboration with late Optom. Naval P. Baliwalla in 1976.

  3. Rishi.Dave

    Respected President,
    I just want to know,are there any innovative steps taken to create awareness about eye protection amongst the citizens.

  4. Asif

    Sir from optical assoc from Solapur Asif Saifan slab wise gst should provide for our optical industries please appeal to government Solapur assoc r with u cell 09370423849

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *